Enter the park by turning right on H.A. Wyeth Sr. Drive from Smith Boulevard.
As early as 1835 this wooded, hilly area was used for picnics and family outings. The Aurora Sharp Shooter Society used it for a shooting range in the early 1870s. In 1899, 60 acres were purchased by the estate of former Mayor Travis Phillips and donated to the City as City Park. In 1902, the park was renamed Phillips Park in his honor.
Now located on more than 300 acres, the park features a unique Oak and Hickory forest, the recently renovated Sunken Garden, an 18-hole golf course, zoo, aquatic center, and tennis courts. Mastodon bones were discovered when the lake was created in the 1930s as a Civil Works Administration project. Named after the mammal, the 25-acre Mastodon Lake is surrounded by a one mile multiple use trail. Other amenities in the park include the entry waterfall, World War One cannons and veteran related monuments, playground, picnic pavilions, and volleyball courts. Parking for Mastodon Lake, trail and zoo is located on Wyeth Drive. For the other features, parking is available by turning left on to Ray Moses Drive to the parking lot on the right.
Smith Boulevard and Ray Moses Circle Drive