Preservation Awards

Award Nominations

Each year, the City of Aurora honors excellence in historic restoration with the Mayor’s Awards for Historic Preservation. The awards recognize owners who make significant improvements while maintaining the historic character of a building.

To qualify for an award, nominated properties should be at least 50 years old, or designated as historic by the City of Aurora. Citizens may nominate a historic building in Aurora to receive the Mayor’s Award by submitting a Mayor's Award Nomination Form or by calling the number listed below.

The deadline for nominations is March 29, 2019. Nominations are being sought for projects generally completed between January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2018 but exceptions may be made.

Builders or residents are urged to submit their own work or other projects warranting consideration. The winners will be named during the celebration of National Historic Preservation Month in May at the City Council Meeting on May 28, 2019 at 6:00 PM with a reception to follow at the David L. Pierce Art and History Center, 20 E. Downer Place.

Submit completed nomination forms to:

Aurora Preservation Commission
c/o City of Aurora Zoning and Planning Division  
44 E. Downer Place
Aurora, Illinois 60507
Phone 630-256-3080 
[email protected]
 Award recipients receive a plaque and are recognized at the Mayor’s Awards Ceremony.