The African American Heritage Advisory Board is a community-based advisory board  funded by the City of Aurora. AAHAB serves to educate and act as a bridge between the African American community and the City.

Happy Kwanzaa

KWANZAA (Dec. 26- January 1)

The origins of Kwanzaa on the African continent are in the agricultural celebrations called the first-fruits" celebrations and to a lesser degree the full or general harvest celebrations. It is from these first-fruits celebrations that Kwanzaa gets its name which comes from the Swahili phrase matunda ya lewanza.  

Learn more about Kwanzaa - A Celebration of Family & Culture - here.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes