News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/6/2019 2:47:30 AM to 5/9/2019 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: May 6, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Swearing-In Ceremony for Aldermen


Six Aurora aldermen will be sworn-in during the 2019 Aldermanic Inauguration on Tuesday, May 7 at 6 p.m. The ceremony will be held in the Copley Theatre, 8 E. Galena Blvd, in downtown Aurora. 

Returning officials Alderman-At-Large Sherman L. Jenkins, Third Ward Alderman Ted Mesiacos, Fifth Ward Alderman Carl Franco, and Sixth Ward Alderman Mike Saville will retain their seats on the Aurora City Council.

Two new aldermen will join the Aurora City Council. Alderman-Elect Emmanuel Llamas will replace retiring Alderman Tina Bohman in the First Ward and Alderman-Elect Patty Smith will replace retiring Eighth Ward Alderman Rick Mervine. 

The ceremony is open to the public. Seats are available on a first-come basis. Doors will open at 5:30 p.m.

Immediately following the ceremony, a public reception will be held in the Grand Gallery of the Paramount Theatre, 23 E. Galena Boulevard, where visitors can meet and greet all of the aldermen.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home