News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/17/2020 2:17:00 PM to 8/1/2020 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: June 17, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Statement from the Aurora Education Commission

A Statement from the AEC

The purpose of Aurora’s Education Commission (AEC) is to engage in constructive dialogue regarding information and initiatives that benefit our educational institutions and our greater city.

The commission consists of Aurora area educational leaders from preschool through post-secondary, allies from both the private and public sectors, as well as valuable workforce partners. The commission was born out of Mayor Richard C. Irvin’s vision for leveraging education as a foundation for equity. 

Part of the AEC’s work has been centered around that very topic - equity. 

In past meetings, we have solicited external expertise to facilitate conversations regarding implicit and explicit bias, racial inequities, and the perception and treatment of all human beings. In recent weeks, those conversations have resurfaced as videos of racialized violence have served as a bitter reminder of the heartbreaking reality that exists for many members of our community. 

The Aurora Education Commission acknowledges that educational systems are not immune to the disparities that are seen throughout society and we realize that we have the ability and obligation to be part of the solution to help remedy these negative aspects of our collective environment. 

As a commission, we do not pretend to have all of the answers, but we will commit to working to find the right solutions. We feel fortunate to have many diverse perspectives at the table related to education and the workforce. However, the topic of equality transcends these two areas, and much like COVID-19, it is of global concern. Moving forward, we aim to be the hub of support for our community and to give voice to those who need to be heard.  

Once we resume our public meetings, the commission will continue to discuss Racial Equity within the context of education with the intention of sharing best practices and recommendations to our education colleagues.

In closing, we remind you that the top priority of our schools is the safety, health, and well-being of our students, staff, and the greater community. We have seen challenges in the past and through collaboration with one another, we have overcome those obstacles. 

Let us rise again to the challenge and show the world that we are One Aurora Strong.


AEC Chair

Dr. Jeff Craig | Superintendent, West Aurora School District 129

AEC Vice-Chair 

Dr. Christine Sobek | President, Waubonsee Community College

AEC Treasurer

Lynor Johnson | Head of School, Fox Valley Montessori

AEC Secretary 

Sandra Harrison | Co-Founder, Leaders in Transformational Education 

AEC Commissioners 

Christine Anderson | English Learners Curriculum Coordinator, School District 129

Ald. Edward Bugg | Ward 9 Alderman, City of Aurora

Dr. Mark Curtis-Chavez | Provost, College of DuPage

Dr. Lisa Hichens | Superintendent, Batavia School District 101

Dr. Collette House | Superintendent, Aurora Christian Schools

Dhevi Kandasamy | CEO, Orthosie LLC

Mablene Krueger | Chief Operating Officer, Schaumburg Campus of Roosevelt University

Dr. Todd Leden | Superintendent, Kaneland School District 302

Maria Lopez | Director of Development, St. Augustine College

Phil Lundquist | Principal, Covenant Christian School

Amy McMahon | Head of School, Rosary High School

Dr. Jennifer Norrell | Superintendent, East Aurora School District 131

Mariana Osoria | Vice-President of Centers, Family Focus  

Trish Rooney | Director, Strong-Prepared-And-Ready-for-Kindergarten 

Dr. Rebecca Sherrick | President, Aurora University

Dr. John Sparlin | Superintendent, Community Unit School District 308

Dr. Karen Sullivan | Superintendent, Indian Prairie School District 204

Dr. Jose Torres | President, Illinois Mathematics & Science Academy

Carl Wegman | President, R.C. Wegman Construction

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home