Official website for the City of Aurora, Illinois. Mayor Robert J. O'Connor

Aurora Today

The City is accessible through five interchanges on the East/West Tollway Corridor. Corporate offices and commercial growth on the City’s east and west sides continue to expand the City’s boundaries, now stretching from Route 59 on the east to portions beyond Orchard Road on the west.

The Far East Side of the City includes the regional Westfield Shoppingtown at Fox Valley (formerly known as Fox Valley Mall) and residential areas and is projected to house 60,000 people within the next twenty years. The Near East side includes the internationally known Chicago Premium Outlets.

The City extends into four counties:

There are six school districts and seven townships covered within the city limits.

There are four historic districts and a large number of individual landmark designations for many of the City’s buildings.

The City of Aurora is rich in history and pride. The future for the “City of Lights” looks bright as the community continues to grow and prosper.