Official website for the City of Aurora, Illinois. Mayor Robert J. O'Connor

Standing Committees of the City Council

There are four (4) standing-committees each made up of three (3) aldermen and one (1) alternate.  They are as follows:

Planning and Development

  • Alderman Michael B. Saville, Chairman
  • Alderman Richard Irvin, Member
  • Alderman William "Bill" Donnell, Member
  • Alderman Scheketa Hart-Burns, Alternate
  • Jeane Beck – Committee Clerk

The Planning and Development Committee, (P&D Committee), meets on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of the month, at 4:00 p.m. at City Hall, 5th Floor Conference Room. It reviews proposed residential subdivisions and commercial developments, requests for annexation, planning, zoning, housing, urban renewal, business and community development, code development and enforcement, and community block grant administration.

Finance Committee

  • Alderman Robert O’Connor, Chairman
  • Alderman Richard B. "Rick" Mervine, Member
  • Alderman Kristina "Tina" Bohman, Member
  • Alderman Theodoros Mesiacos, Alternate
  • Constance Krug –Committee Clerk

The Finance Committee meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month, at 3:00 p.m. at City Hall, 5th Floor Conference Room B. It reviews proposed expenditures, the annual City budget, contracts for goods or services involving the City, taxation, City indebtedness, bond issues, fees and service charges, management of the City’s monies, pensions and insurance, and the City audit.

Government Operations

  • Alderman Scheketa Hart-Burns, Chairman
  • Alderman Edward Bugg, Member
  • Alderman Carl Franco, Member
  • Alderman Richard B. "Rick" Mervine, Alternate
  • Shelly Windett– Committee Clerk

The Government Operations Committee, (G.O. Committee), meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month, at 4:30 p.m. in the Aldermen’s Office. It reviews parades, rally requests, requests from charity groups to solicit donations, intergovernmental relations, street light and sign requests, traffic concerns, legislative matters, the motor vehicle parking system, City golf courses and elections.

Building, Grounds and Infrastructure

  • Alderman Juany Garza, Chairman
  • Alderman Theodore Mesiacos, Member
  • Alderman Lynne Johnson, Member
  • Alderman Kristina "Tina" Bohman, Alternate
  • Cristal Martinez– Committee Clerk

The Building, Grounds and Infrastructure, (BGI Committee), meets on the 2nd & 4th   Mondays of the month, at 4:30 p.m. in the Aldermen’s Office.  It reviews flooding and drainage problems, violation of flood plain zoning, all matters pertaining to the environment, sanitation, solid waste disposal, water treatment and distribution, storm and sanitary sewers.

For current meeting agendas and minutes, please click here.