Official website for the City of Aurora, Illinois. Mayor Robert J. O'Connor

News Details


Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2014 Outstanding African-American Award sponsored by the City of Aurora’s African American Heritage Advisory Board (AAHAB).

Each year, AAHAB honors an African-American in Aurora who has exhibited leadership, volunteerism, and service to the community with the Outstanding African-American Award.  Past honorees include Judge Keith Brown, Donnell Collins, Henry Cowherd, Alderman Scheketa Hart-Burns, Cynthia Latimer, Clayton Muhammad, Archie Needam, Lillian Perry, and Fred Rodgers.

The award recipient will be feted at AAHAB’s 10th Annual Heritage and Awards Dinner on Friday, February 21, 2014 at Pipers Banquets in Aurora.  

To submit a nomination, email Toussaint Smith, AAHAB Board Chairman, at with a description of how the candidate has demonstrated leadership, volunteerism, and service in the Aurora community.  Nomination deadline is Friday, January 24, 2014. 

Location: Aurora, IL


Release Date—January 14th, 2014